Networked Learning Project #3

Wrapping up the final week of the Networked Learning Project I completed a video summarizing my goal of learning how to use my DSLR camera’s manual mode, what resources I used, first attempts, and a How-To component.  This project has taught me a lot about myself and how it is necessary to find more than one resource to learn a skill.  I thought at the beginning of this project just two youtube videos would be enough, but after trying what those videos taught me, I quickly learned that I needed more videos. In addition to the videos, I found some helpful blog posts to clarify when using the manual mode how to use shutter speed, f-stop (aperture), and ISO (light sensitivity) together to create a beautiful photo.  

screenshot-2017-02-12-22-19-30
Here is a link to my Prezi to view all of the videos used and created.

In my video I showed how I had to play a lot with my camera and even when I thought I was getting used to manual mode, the environment would change and I would have to start over again with the shutter speed, f-stop and ISO.  As frustrating as it sounds, it was a lot of fun after I snapped a picture and was able to see my result

screenshot-2017-02-12-22-25-35
Here is a link to my video

instantly and see what I needed to adjust and possibly have to try again.  You can also see in my video that changing these three features was not as challenging as it seems.  After knowing what buttons to press you can quickly make the adjustments and try again. The cheat sheet that I referenced in my video really helps beginners like myself become more comfortable.  It tells you what numbers are most useful depending on your environment and the type of picture you are trying to take.  If you want a blurry background, then you need a lower f-stop number.  If are you outdoors and it’s dusk, then your ISO must be higher.  These are just a few things that I learned through the networks of youtube videos and blogs.

 

If I were asked to learn something on my own again, I would definitely continue this “networked” approach, as it has taught me to ask more questions and try to find answers that are meaningful or useful to me.  This project taught me a lot about myself.  I have always enjoyed math and teaching math for the problem solving, and when presented with the problem of switching from automatic to manual I was able to play and adjust until I could find a solution that I was able to understand.  The videos that I compiled where videos that answered my questions to help me further my learning, which made the quantity of my photos go down and the quality of my photos increase.  I would encourage my students to also take this approach when learning something new.  In math one approach or method doesn’t mean it will reach all learners.  This is why I encourage my students to also use technology in a positive way to develop an understanding that makes sense for them and their learning style.  With Khan Academy, Desmos, and many other youtube videos that are out there, I feel that students can use these networks to deepen their understanding if the lesson is unclear to them.  I will encourage this behavior of finding valuable resources by posting videos on our google classroom or helpful websites, and I want to encourage students to do the same.

References:

H. (2014, August 22). Manual Exposure Cheat Sheet. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttp://photographyelement.com/manual-exposure-cheat-sheet/

H. (2017, January 08). Super Beginner Photography Tips. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttp://www.jadeoak.com/super-beginner-photography-tips/

Prezi Inc. (n.d.). Retrieved February 12, 2017, from https://prezi.com/

R. (2015, December 21). Photography Tutorial: ISO, Aperture, Shutter Speed. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_B8pVoANyY

Screencast-O-Matic Screen Recorder! (n.d.). Retrieved February 12, 2017, from http://www.bing.com/cr?IG=0832DB0AF08A48A9AF5950C9084AAFCF&CID=06E6151816BA645F356B1F30178B658E&rd=1&h=CiSlEbRZnupspac9-JRLQjOig_mvn4j5p3zG4srPMWc&v=1&r=http%3a%2f%2fscreencast-o-matic.com%2fscreen_recorder&p=DevEx,5095.1

T. (2013, July 04). Canon EOS Rebel T3 Tutorial Part 1 of 2. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XAAxP5Chds

V. (2015, January 27). How to Use Manual Mode on Your Camera. Retrieved February 05, 2017, fromhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYbTEB2mQX8

 

Leave a Reply

