Networked Learning Project #2

Over the last two weeks I have been researching even more how to use the manual features on my Canon EOS Rebel T3.  I have learned that bringing together the ISO (light sensitivity), f-stop (how fuzzy or clear you make your focal point and background), and shutter speed.  The most recent youtube video that I found was very helpful from Tony & Chelsea Northrup, that you should work with one feature and add one more to work with them together before diving into all three (V., 2015).  I felt very successful when taking photos manually with adjusting the f-stop and shutter speed, but when I would bring ISO into the mix I was having a hard time making the three work together. It was also challenging when my model, aka my dog, would move to different areas of the house which would change the type of lighting.  When lighting changed, I would have to rearranged the three features to have them work together in the different environment. Even though it has been challenging I have learned that changing the features is something that I will continue to learn more about through the process and with more experience when shooting it will become easier to know how the three work together best for the environment I’m in.

The first set of resources that I found from my previous NLP blog post were still very helpful, but I found that the Manual Exposure Cheat Sheet was the most beneficial as I was beginning my learning process (Eckerle, 2017; H., 2014).  The fear of trying to manage all three features just through playing was put somewhat to ease with the helpful tips for the different ranges of each feature.  With the help of this chart and the three youtube videos I felt like I was able to more clearly start piecing all of the information together in order to make a crisp well lit shot of my wonderful model.  The TopTierPhoto youtube video was helpful, but I already knew many of the buttons on the camera that this tutorial went through, but still was able to pick up pointers about the ISO, shutter speed, and f stop which has been the key components when shooting manually (T., 2013).  All of the resources I previously found were very helpful and encouraging that it will take time to understand how the shutter speed, ISO, and f stop would work together and the more that I play with my camera the more I will be capable of doing.

Here is a link to my video of where to locate the shutter speed, f stop, and ISO.

 With the pictures below you can see it did take a lot of practice on how to create a clear picture that wasn’t too dark or light. Here as some pictures of my first attempts with low f stop and shutter speed.

Like in Tony & Chelsea Northrup’s video, I attempted the shutter speed first, then changed my f stop (aperture), and finally the ISO.  As you can see by these photos when adding on each feature I would have to adjust the previous feature in order to capture a good picture.  I am still trying to learn these features so I will be needing multiple attempts at my model in order to feel like I have completed the picture I was trying to capture.  As they all say practice makes perfect, and so far I have been enjoying the process and (most of) the memories captured!

References:

Eckerle, A. (2017, January 22). CEP 810: Networked Learning Project. Retrieved February 05, 2017, from https://eckerleblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/22/cep-810-networked-learning-project

H. (2014, August 22). Manual Exposure Cheat Sheet. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttp://photographyelement.com/manual-exposure-cheat-sheet/

H. (2017, January 08). Super Beginner Photography Tips. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttp://www.jadeoak.com/super-beginner-photography-tips/

R. (2015, December 21). Photography Tutorial: ISO, Aperture, Shutter Speed. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_B8pVoANyY

T. (2013, July 04). Canon EOS Rebel T3 Tutorial Part 1 of 2. Retrieved January 22, 2017, fromhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XAAxP5Chds

V. (2015, January 27). How to Use Manual Mode on Your Camera. Retrieved February 05, 2017, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYbTEB2mQX8

Leave a Reply

