Questioning for Life

As we wrap up CEP 812 this week we were asked to reflect on how we will question as we continue on through our careers.  As I began to think of who I am as a teacher and how I use questions to inspire my teaching, I also was able to reflect how passionate I am for my job and how creative I must be in order to inspire my students to learn math.

screenshot-2016-10-13-22-17-09

We researched to expand our PLNs and I realized how helpful that has become when researching for new activities to use in my classroom.  It inspired me to keep asking why I have been teaching the way I have been and if I can find a  better method for my students.  This has helped to drive my passion for teaching math and often times become very creative because Pre-Calculus has very limited resources, but the ideas I have found has been able to push me to try them in this higher level class.  Berger questioned what if we couldn’t fail, and I have been striving to push myself to become more creative for my students and try new methods to teaching (Berger, 2014).  When I lose this fear, I am able to question what gives the students the best learning experience in my classroom.  As I continue to ask these questions I will keep inspiring myself, which in the end will help inspire my students.

Here is a Prezi for how I am inspired through my passion and creativity in teaching.

References:
Berger, W. (2014). A More Beautiful Question: The Power of Inquiry to Spark Breathrough Ideas. New York City, NY: Bloomsbury USA
Friedman, T. L. (2013, January 29). It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. Retrieved October 13, 2016, from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

Leave a Reply

