Video Remix: Copycat Failure

Remixing is becoming part of our culture, as soon as a video is uploaded, sure enough someone is taking bits and pieces to create their own product.  Is this fair? Is this legal?  According to Lessig (2008), Ms. Bono was not pleased that a cover of her husband’s work was being discussed without permission.  There are many laws about copyright, and I learned quickly this week, that even though we learn from copying we can only copy from creative commons.  This becomes very challenging when asked to make a remix for your new class, but once I learned a few tips about creative commons, I understood what I could use, and also didn’t need to worry about lawyers on my doorstep.

When beginning to learn how to use the editing software from WeVideo, I became very excited about this week’s project of creating my own remix.  Although, I had a challenging time finding videos that I liked because of the standard copyright laws in place.  Specifically looking for creative commons doesn’t sound intimidating, until you actually try it yourself.  This week I watched videos and read articles explaining how we all learn from copying, BUT I kept failing with the copying because of copyright laws.  That is why I accepted my failures, and began to work faster and limit my searches with creative commons.  If it weren’t for the video where Eyeo Festival (2013), had guest Fernanda Viegas explain why failure made their website get published within a month and a half of a similar site, versus a launch that could have been six months later.  I often try to be a perfectionist, but when I could not find the clips that went with my original remix plan, I had to adapt and create a different plan (I think it is a better remix than previously planned).  When looking through the lense of creative commons clips, I was able to see what was present and create from copying the clips that were available instead of the “original” clips that I was looking for to fit my needs, I made my needs fit what was readily available.

Even though we learned many concepts about makers and remixing, my two biggest takeaways were copyright laws and learning from failures.  Which is why I created a remix about how copying can be a failure, that in the end creates something new.  We grow up learning by copying, from the alphabet to algebra, the concepts have been in place for thousands of years, but we have used these concepts as our tools to create and adapt to what we need today.  I would rather copy something and make it work for me, than brainstorm for hours to create something original (this was a huge lesson learned this week).  I chose to open my video with a kitten trying to copy how a cat catches a mouse.  The kitten failed when he copied the cat, but as the youtube clip continues from Andythebeagle (2013), the kitten has learned enough to keep trying to catch a mouse.  In making my remix, once my first idea failed, I had to find another way to make my remix work and that is how I found the clip from Cannes Lions Learnings.  Within the youtube clip Cannes Lions Learnings (2014) had guest speaker Mark Earls invite audience members to participate in the idea of copying each other one at a time, almost like the game of telephone with charades.  The “motion” started with simple movements of the arms, changed into awkward facial movements, and ending in a disco dance; which helped prove Earls point that when we copy we can become bored.  When we become bored with copying, we then start adapting and create something new.  I loved learning these lessons as a new maker, and hope by this blog post it will help other makers have these realizations themselves.  Now it is my turn to show what I created when copying, with lots of remix failure, which helped me to my break through to my final remix called, “Copycat Failure.”

Copycat Failure

Sources:

Andythebeagle. (2013, June 27). Copy Cat (1941) Fleischer Studios cartoons. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HRDPLlreeg8

Cannes Lions Learnings. (2014, January 06). Cannes Moments: Originality is Overrated: It’s Copying that Breeds Innovation. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YgdSSqJHKA

Eckerle, A. (2016, May 22). Copycat Failure. Retrieved from https://www.wevideo.com/view/671495948

Eyeo Festival. (2013, July 22). Eyeo 2013 – Panel: Failing with Style. Retrieved from https://vimeo.com/70786269

Lessig, L. (2008). Remix: Making art and commerce thrive in the hybrid economy. New York: Penguin Press. Retrieved from https://archive.org/stream/LawrenceLessigRemix/Remix-o.txt

(n.d.). Retrieved May 21, 2016, from https://www.wevideo.com/hub/#editor/671256317

Summer Rock – BaltaZzar

 

Leave a Reply

